Gluten-Free · Misc. Desserts

Hot Chocolate Rum Souffle

P1010641

Unfortunately due to chores and last-minute preparations for exams I really haven’t had the excuse to devote my time to cooking a meal worthy of blogging about – let alone a dessert. So naturally I was absolutely thrilled when I was able to throw a mini dinner party where I could whip up some simple, but delicious mains and then a quick and delicious dessert. I was also extremely excited because I am like many cooks, I buy more recipe books than I probably need, and I was finally happy to make a dessert from one of them that I haven’t used before. I heartily recommend Jenny White’s Three and Four Ingredient Recipes Cookbooks – if only because they are actually amazing in terms of range and flavour, and they’re also very quick and cheap recipes.

All in all it was a delicious success, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that even my old oven could still make these little beauties rise. I really want to try it with Fragoli next time as the strawberry flavour mixed with cocoa powder would be utterly delicious I think. And if anyone else has some quick and tasty souffle recipes please don’t hesitate to send me a message or to give a link in a comment on this post. I would really like to see what other flavours people like to whip up.

Jenny White’s 

Hot Chocolate Rum Souffles

Serves: 5-6, Prep: 10-15 mins, Cook: 13-15 mins

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 5 tbsp caster sugar
  • 2 tbsp dark rum
  • 6 eg whites

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 190°C. Place baking tray in oven to heat up.
  2. Mix 1 tbsp of cocoa with 1 tbsp of caster sugar in a bowl.
  3. Grease six ramekins, pour cocoa and sugar mixture into each to coat base and sides evenly.
  4. Mix remaining cocoa with dark rum.
  5. Whisk egg whites until they form stiff peaks. Stir a generous spoonful of the whites into the cocoa mixture to lighten it, then fold in the remaining whites.
  6. Divide mixture among the dishes. Place on the hot baking sheet and bake for 13-15 minutes or until well risen.
  7. Dust with icing sugar to serve.
Leave a Reply

