Misc. Desserts

Baked Cheesecake (Low-Carb)

I often find that people panic when you say “low-carb”. It’s a common misconception that living low-carb also means living without flavour or fun. My parents and my brother – to an extent, do low carb, and when combined with exercise it’s really improved their health. I’m too much of a glutton to do low-carb, but I do love to exercise. It’s probably the only reason I haven’t popped from all that eating yet! But back to this cheesecake!

O was browsing the  web for another low-carb dessert that didn’t require too many ingredients or fuss, and I found one here. But my one major change was to oust the splenda in the recipe in favour of natvia, another sugar substitute. Splenda is not that low-carb, and I don’t like using it in baking. And I also ousted the almond extract, because it tastes too bitter to me. But the substitutes worked perfectly and the cheesecake was quick and fun.

I thoroughly recommend it. And I also recommend it with a dollop of cream or jam – for those naughty gluttons like me. And if you want to vary the flavours you can replace the vanilla extract and almond essence with a few mashed or pureed berries, etc.

Here is another slice of my cheesecake, but this time I was able to fish out some of Polly’s delicious Kumquat Jam. I want to thank Polly for continuously giving us delicious treats when we need them the most, especially ones that work so well at dessert time!

Adapted from Suzanne Kern’s

Low-Carb Cheesecake

Serves: 6, Prep: 15 mins, Cook: 35 mins

Ingredients

  • About 680g of cream cheese
  • 3 eggs
  • Up to 5 tsp of Natvia, or a sugar susbtitute
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon dessicated coconut

Method

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 180C and grease a pie pan.
  2. Mix together cream cheese, natvia, vanilla and coconut. Then add eggs and beat until creamy.
  3. Pour into the pie pan and bake for 35 mins, or until cracked and golden on top.
8 thoughts on “Baked Cheesecake (Low-Carb)

Leave a Reply

