Dairy-Free · Entres and Appetisers and Snacks · Gluten-Free

Soy-Chilli Macadamias

If there’s one thing I admire about my dad, it’s his ability to cook. Dad didn’t start doing the cooking, but over time he slowly took over in the kitchen and has really made the space his own. He produces delicious dinners ten times out of ten, and he even produces great snacks at the drop of a hat. So there was no way I couldn’t put a plug here to one of my favourite recipes of his for a quick, nut-based snack. And it’s so simple that pretty much anyone could make it.

Sadly I wasn’t able to get many nuts to take a good photo with. I had to abscond with what you see above just to take the shot, as the rest of my family had swooped down on the delicious nuts, hot and fresh from the pan. Yum, yum! It was all I could do to snap a few pictures before I started scoffing them myself. So enjoy!

Stuart’s

Soy-Chilli Macadamias

Serves: 3-4 Prep: 1-2 mins, Cook: 2-3 mins

Ingredients

  • 500g unsalted macadamias
  • Generous splashes of soy sauce, enough to cover the nuts
  • One-two pinches of chilli powder, or to taste

Method

  1. Place the macadamias in a pan on the stove top with a bit of macadamia oil to prevent them sticking.
  2. Cover them with soy sauce and chilli and stir as they cook. As the nuts become glazed and sticky with the sauce and appear thoroughly cooked tip them from the pan onto a piece of baking paper and let cool until safe enough to touch and eat.
Leave a Reply

