Cakes

Duck Egg Sponge Cake

Hello, hello, hello! Hello to all of the people visiting my blog! This is my first post. I hope you enjoy it and this sponge cake recipe, as this  is quite possibly the easiest sponge cake I have ever made. And it’s taste, smell and texture far outdid any store-bought sponge I have encountered as well. But where did I find the recipe for this great cake? Well, I was first given six beautiful ducks eggs and was then told to visit this website and get the recipe from the amazing Not Quite Nigella! And lucky for me that’s exactly what I did. The duck eggs mixed with the custard powder gave this cake a rich, vibrant colour. And these eggs also worked just as well at giving fluff and volume as regular chicken eggs would have. This to me was a surprise, as this was my first time cooking with duck eggs.

A special thanks must be given to our family friend, Polly. It was her ducks who produced these eggs, and it was Polly who gifted them to us and told us to visit this website. So thank you Polly! I had as much fun making this cake as I did eating it! I wish I could have shared a slice with Polly, to show her the brilliant results. But given hat her happy little duckies are no doubt still producing these enormous eggs, given that those duckies are getting all the right care, I don’t think I’ll have long to wait until I can cook this cake for her!

Not Quite Nigella’s

Duck Egg Sponge-Cake

Serves: 10Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 15-20 mins

Ingredients:

  • 4 Duck eggs (medium-sized 420g are fine), or 5 large chicken eggs at room temperature
  • 2/3 cup caster sugar
  • 3/4 cup plain flour
  • 1/3 cup custard powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • A little butter and flour for the tins

Filling:

  • 300ml cream
  • 1/4 cup icing sugar
  • 60g jam
  • 2 tbsp icing sugar + extra for dusting

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180C/350F. Grease pans with butter and sift flour over butter and shake out excess flour.
  2. Whisk eggs and sugar on a medium high setting for 8-10 minutes until it has turned very pale and very thick and has increased in volume to at least 3 times its original volume.
  3. Meanwhile, sift the flour and custard powder three times.
  4. When the egg mixture is ready, ensure that the oven is at the correct temperature. Have everything ready as the timing is crucial now. Sift the flour into the mixture while someone else folds the mixture underneath. This helps to avoid the lumps.
  5. Quickly spoon it into the tins and bake in the centre row of the oven and bake for 15-20 minutes. It should spring back slightly when touched and the edges should pull back from the tin.
  6. Cool in the tins for 5 minutes and then remove from the tin gently and cool on a wire rack.
  7. Beat cream with icing sugar until stiffish and spread this on one cake half (the heavier or less photogenic one is best). Spoon jam on top and place the other cake round on top and sift icing sugar on top.
2 thoughts on “Duck Egg Sponge Cake

Leave a Reply

